fbpx
Groceries2018-01-10T17:21:40+00:00

Best Cuba Guide Forums General Groceries

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Where is the best place to get provisions such as coffee, eggs, bread, milk, fruit, vegetables, bottled water, etc…??

Mario
    Keymaster

Hi Zach. This is a great question and one that I receive a lot. I did a write-up to discuss this exact topic. You can find the complete article here: https://bestcubaguide.com/some-frequently-asked-questions-about-visiting-havana-and-cuba/

And below I will copy the info and add a bit extra for you. Basically, doing your grocieris in Havana and Cuba in general will be cheap, but very time consuming and possible frustrating. I have a lot of experience living in Havana and even I sometimes go for a week without eggs because there are just none to be found in any stores. Sometimes you get lucky and have eggs all month. Other times there are none or you have to pay an inflated black market rate for them. Crazy, but that’s Cuba.

Even in Havana, household supplies are not that easy to find. There are some supermarkets where you can get some things, but they mostly sell packaged good. I would suggest that you bring you own dish soap, as the Cuban one is usually sold as a powder, and not a liquid. You might not find it very good.

Supermarkets will not sell paper towels.

Toilet paper is available sometimes. Maybe one day yes and one day no. You might have to go shopping to a few stores before you find it. There will be some at the casa particular when you arrive, but likely only 1 roll.

There will be a new bar of soap in the casa particular too. But I suggest you simply bring a couple of extra bars of soap with you from the USA, so you don’t have to waste time searching for soap in Havana.